Old World Tradition Meets New World Expertise.


Gluten Free Grains

Being gluten intolerant doen’t mean you have to eat a totally grain-free diet.  Here are a few options you can still enjoy (in moderation) when grain-cravings strike:

  • Rice
  • Corn
  • Quinoa
  • Buckwheat
  • Millet
  • Amaranth
  • Teff
  • Sorghum
  • Wild Rice

A note about oats: Experts hotly debate whether oats are tainted by guten.

Oat advocates point to studies showing oats don’t appear to damage the small intestines of people with celiac.  Yet, detractors say oats are bound to be contaminated by gluten because they are often processed in facilities that handle gluten-containing grains.  So it’s best to steer clear.  If you’re concerned about contamination, choose Bob’s Red Mill oats (available at most major grocery stores).  They are considered by many to be the “cleanest” oats around.  If you’re still unsure, putting oats on your list of foods to eliminate and reintroduce can help you determine if they are problematic.